Just make the decision.

At the start of this year I found myself making a pretty big decision. I decided that I was going to be a writer, and I would begin with a children’s novel that’s in my head heart soul just waiting to be written. Easier said than done.

The decision was finally and conclusively made after much umm-ing and ahh-ing and going back and forth, an overdose of self-doubt, and an antidote of support from others. When I first started talking to other people about being a writer, and playing with the idea a bit more seriously in my head, I found that there were lots of people pushing me towards it. If you’ve ever read “The Alchemist” by Paulo Coelho, you’ll be familiar with the quote “When you want something, all the universe conspires in helping you to achieve it”. If you haven’t read “The Alchemist” yet, then stop reading my stuff and go beg, borrow or steal. It’s an easy read with a great message, and one of the books I always buy if I see a cheap copy somewhere, so I can lend it to people without worrying too much about whether I get it back or not.

I liked the idea of finding and forming your destiny, and it was an inspiration to read, but I still didn’t think it really applied to me. Plus, it’s a huge risk to set aside a pretty stable career for something that may or may not eventuate. One friend in particular really pushed me into believing in myself, and gave me some of the best advice I’d ever received on the topic. He said, “Just make the decision, don’t worry about the ‘how’, and everything will fall into place.”

Paulo Coelho Quote

Yeah, right. But you know what? He was right. After I made the decision to be a writer (like really made it; absolutely 100%), everything started falling into place. In just a few months, I’ve been overwhelmed by how many people support the idea, and who have been reminded to push onwards on their own path (on the flip side, I’ve been saddened by the number of people that have said they wish they had done what they really wanted to do when they had the chance, although I do think that it’s never too late to change direction), and don’t actually care about anyone that doesn’t think it’s a good idea, because I am far too certain in my decision.

So what’s your path? Where is your life going – and is that where you want it to go? Think back to your childhood, to that one thing you really wanted to do, but some kind of fear was holding you back. You know what it is. It’s there, in your head heart soul, smushed into an almost unrecognisable mess by “Can I afford an iPhone?” and “Does my bum look big in this?”

Go ahead. I dare you. Make the Decision.

3 thoughts on “Just make the decision.

Leave a comment on this article.

