A Midday Alarm Clock (this is not a post about sleeping in)

Every day

you wake up in the morning,

drag yourself

to the bathroom,

brush your teeth.

Two cups of tea

(coffee on a bad day)

and you leave the house.

Breakfast.

“I’ll just have to skip it,” you say

as you check your watch,

start your car,

put upΒ with

traffic

just to get to work.

Work, ugh.

Your day,

meetings,

reports,

blah, blah, blah.

STOP.

Your phone buzzes its alarm.

STOP.

“Today I woke up,

alive. It is

a good day.

I am healthy enough

to shower,

brush my teeth,

and make two cups of tea.

I am independent enough to drive

to my job,

that pays my bills

and gives my day

some purpose.

I have friends,

I have family,

I have

me.”

12:05pm

2 thoughts on “A Midday Alarm Clock (this is not a post about sleeping in)

  1. Truth; simple, in your face truth. I no longer have the onus of a 9 to 5 job.I am what others call “retired.” LOL, I could wax poetic and write a poem in a similar format… about the trials of “being retired.” Anyway you put it, your poem is real, so real that you more than likely put a damper on most anyone’s morning… those who read it of course. Then again one can take on the pleasures of work no matter what, like what is seemingly guaranteed with the ubiquitous bumper sticker, “hi ho, hi ho, it’s off to work I go!” : )

    Like

Leave a comment on this article.

