Giving your writing more ‘Oomph’

1386501_92761519

Recently I was asked for feedback about an author friend’s first few chapters. This took me back to my own editing process, and a lot of the edits that I ask my English students to make (some of these apply to essay writing as well). Since these are things that it seems are common between several writers, it may be useful for your writing, too:

  • Read your work out loud. This is the absolute best advice I can give anyone for their writing. When you read your work out loud, you notice easily which bits don’t quite make sense and which bits ‘flow’ the best. Writing and reading are intrinsically linked.
  • Build suspense. I am specifically referring to the hanging scene here, especially as it really needs to hook the reader in, but perhaps in other areas as well. Keep the reader guessing – what are they going to do? What’s going to happen? We love a book that keeps us wanting to know more.
  • Be consistent with your tense. Past tense is the easiest to write in, but whatever you choose, stick to it.
  • Don’t underestimate your audience. If you’ve described someone as being excited, you don’t also have to say that they’re excited – we have already made the connection, which links to…
  • …show don’t tell. Some bits are not hugely significant, so you can just state it (otherwise your writing will become far too wordy to enjoy), but other parts can be described with more ‘oomph’ – think about describing sight, sound, touch, smell and FEELINGS.
  • Look at places you have repeated words in close vicinity of each other. Reading the same term too many times gets confusing for the reader. Sometimes you can say ‘it’ instead, other times think of a different way of saying the same thing.

What would you add to this list?

5 thoughts on “Giving your writing more ‘Oomph’

  1. Great post, most of all the point about reading out loud. With my writers group we decided to read it out loud to each other, since I hadn’t done it yet, I saw a lot of ‘mistakes’ in the text as I read it. Luckily my fellow writers bare with me. πŸ˜‰

    Like

    1. It’s the first thing I get my students to do if I’ve noticed a few errors, or they don’t understand why I’ve asked them to change something.

      It’s amazing how much you notice about your own work this way.

      Like

Leave a comment on this article.

