Blog Marketing Strategy: Link Love

Every business and blogger loves a bit of link love. In fact, it’s probably the number one marketing strategy for professional bloggers. You see, it doesn’t matter if you’ve got viral content or an amazing product or the perfect niche blog if no one actually knows you exist.

Linking to web articles does two things to market your blog. Firstly, it ranks you higher in Google’s search algorithms, and – more importantly – it lets the breathing, feeling, human being at the other end of your link know that you’ve just mentioned them. As long as it’s a positive mention (which I highly recommend), it endears you to them. I mean, how would you feel if you found an incoming link from <insert random URL here>, clicked on it, and discovered a blog author sending peeps your way?

A personal example is writer Ben Roach and his site Above the Sea of Fog. I found an incoming link on my statistics page and clicked on it, which led me to his site. Once there, I noticed he had my site in the sidebar as a recommended site. Someone had recommended me? This was the start of what has been a very supportive two-way blogger friendship.

To prove to you that this is easier than it might seem, my challenge to you is to put between 3-6 links in the next blog post you write, then send me a link to the site via the comments below, and I’ll leave a happy / silly / exalting comment on your post Β – if you follow this marketing tip.

4 thoughts on “Blog Marketing Strategy: Link Love

  1. My name was mentioned, very cool πŸ˜€ Thanks Zee. I need all the help I can get with the search engines. I am currently competing against a guy called Ben Roach who has been imprisoned for infanticide, very uncool 😦

    Like

Leave a comment on this article.

