You are what you Speak

I’ve made it a point to become mindful of the words I use – both spoken and silent – and it’s almost scary how much negativity goes on up there. In my post The Voices in my Head, I explored some of these thoughts a bit more, but today I’m focussing on how to manage them. You see, they can be changed. They’re like a class full of children – all wanting attention, all wanting to be heard, all wanting to be on top. And sometimes, that’s just too much for our super-ego to handle. Instead of allowing them to get louder and more obnoxious as time goes on, I do my best to combat them – see that? Instead of saying “try”, I said “do my best”. Instead of saying “should”, I say “will”, and when the voices tell me I can’t, or I’m not good enough I say, “No, that’s not right. I’m wonderful.” Because I am. And you are. And the more we feel that in our hearts, the more wonderfulness will shine out of us like sunbeams, and the whole world will be a better place. Because we’re wonderful xx

8 thoughts on “You are what you Speak

  1. I believe in the power of positive thinking and visualisation. It’s a difficult belief system sometimes; it’sas if the more positive the thought, the more the negative thoughts scream and yell like hecklers at a performance. You have a choice to continue amidst the boos and the hisses or just give in to them. Great post as always, Zee.

    Like

    1. Cheers, Ben. What I’ve found most empowering is not just looking on the ‘bright side’, but really changing the way that I look at life; managing myself, not just shunning negative thinking. It takes time but I’ve already felt a difference.

      I’m a big believer in visualisation as well, and I utilise visualisation to deal with my anxiety issues.

      Like

    1. It’s just so easy for something that has become a habit to feel as if it is ‘natural’ – as opposed to a way of thinking we have become used to.

      It is only once we begin making small changes that we realise how much power we have over our habits of mind.

      Like

    1. Thanks for the link, Susan! I’ve been using a site called Moodscope to help me become more aware of my ups and downs so I can manage them. There certainly are some good tools out there.

      Like

Leave a comment on this article.

