World peace starts with you.

mother teresa courtesy inspired postI remember reading that Mother Teresa was asked what we should be doing to achieve World Peace. This was upon receiving the Nobel Peace Prize.

She replied, “Go home and love your family.”

Somehow, I don’t think that’s what the world was expecting to hear. Anyway, when I first heard it several years ago, I disagreed with her: it was only recently I started thinking about that statement again, and seeing truth in it.

Sometimes we need kindness to be shown to us in order to learn how to show kindness to others. And if we are kind, and loving, and compassionate, we will make decisions with those values at the forefront. And if we make decisions with the ‘good’ values and priorities, then we will leave this world a better place than when we found it.

Of course, that doesn’t make it any *easier* to do (especially when the guy in front of you cuts in & almost gives you a heart attack – jeez!) but it gives us a really, REALLY good reason to try.

And on that note, what’s a memorable act of love, kindness or compassion that someone showed you? How did it make you feel? What did you learn? One that’s stuck with me was when a friend & workmate saw me come in with obviously-been-crying-all-night eyes, took care of the work for me, made me a cuppa and talked about anything he could think of to distract me. It taught me that sometimes when people are upset, it’s actually better not to ask what’s wrong – just be a happy, supportive distraction for a while. And make them a cup of tea 🙂

This post was inspired by Charlee Felice’s post over at Charlee’s Corner – thank you, Charlee, for your insightful writing.

11 thoughts on “World peace starts with you.

    1. Thanks, Alana.
      Totally agree, though had a bit of an insight on the weekend about how judgemental I can be – eek! But onwards and upwards, right?
      If we at least have the goal of being creatures of love, and share that love with ourselves and others, we’ll build a better world for our own generation, and a solid platform for those to come.
      If we keep our priorities sorted, I reckon we can manage it!
      Thanks for reading and reflecting, Alana 🙂
      (Also do you still want those responses to the questions you asked eons ago??)

      Like

  1. There are persons in this world that are filled with compassion and kindness. It seems as your coworker knew you needed understanding, not counsel. I am so glad that you were blessed by such a great person who was there when you needed it most.

    Like

  2. What is that saying…? Charity starts at home – You should take care of family and people close to you before you worry about helping others. You shouldn’t ignore others, but sometimes caring for your brother in law or sister can lead to unexpected kindness shown by them to someone else because of your response.

    The other one I love – share a smile. I smiled at a big tattooed Maori fellow the other day, his face broke into a beautiful smile and he said “Good morning.” That actually made my day and made me smile for the rest of the day.

    Little things add up to big things.

    Like

    1. Share a smile… I like that 🙂 Especially when you get an unexpected smile shared back.

      Sometimes I come in to work and I get a smile and a hi, it’s like, hey, someone’s actually happy to see me, and it makes my day. I vote for more smile-sharing in the world!

      What I’ve learnt and am trying to achieve is to commit myself to the well-being of people (myself included – very important!!), a smile, a hug, a compliment, or a cup of tea all contribute to a person’s happiness. That one smile could make their day, and as you say, all the little things add up.

      Thanks for taking the time to read and comment, Karen xx

      Like

Leave a comment on this article.

