Occupy Art: Facebook Edition

There’s a new ‘movement’ happening on the social media platform everyone loves to hate. It serves to promote beauty and creativity, rather than selfies (not guilty) and what-I-had-for-dinner posts (guilty!). It goes like this:

The idea is to occupy Facebook with art, breaking the monotony of selfies and bitstrips. Whoever likes this post will receive an artist and has to publish a piece by that artist with this text. My artist is <insert artist>.

I’ve found some new artists whose work resounds with me (likeΒ Audrey Kawasaki), rediscovered old loves (like David Hockney and Rene Magritte) and been able to share artists I admire with fans-to-be (like Klimt andΒ JW TurnerΒ – if I could only be surrounded by one artist’s work for the rest of my life, it would be Turner, hands down).

As a criticism (again, guilty!), it would be great to see some more local art – local to wherever you are – and not just the more popular names.

Your turn: Which artist would you suggest?

2 thoughts on “Occupy Art: Facebook Edition

    1. Oh yes, van Gogh is fantastic, but if I had to choose one, I’d go with Turner πŸ™‚ I’ve been trying to keep it going, and posting artwork every now and again. Was aiming for every day, but THAT didn’t happen lol

      Like

Leave a comment on this article.

