Writing Prompt No. 82

Write down 10 things you usually do on a rainy day. Pick one from your list and freewrite for 5 minutes. This prompt was chosen randomly by writer Emma Lindhagen. Through her example, I have also chosen to freewrite about a randomly selected topic using a virtual dice. I got No. 6.

writing prompt no 82
Source: http://creativewritingprompts.com/

Join in on this prompt, share it on your blog, and link to it in the comments!

  1. Just sit, listening to the rain.
  2. Make a mug of hot cocoa.
  3. Check in with social media.
  4. Read.
  5. Plan for my tutoring sessions.
  6. Watch TEDtalks.
  7. Drink more tea than usual.
  8. Write in my journal.
  9. Think about what I can wear that can handle getting wet and / or is yellow.
  10. Put my umbrella in my handbag.

TEDtalks are something I discovered some time ago, though didn’t use to their full potential until now (arguably, am still not using to their full potential). A friend suggested an eye-opening talk about creativity and education by Ken Robinson – a talk I often go back to when feeling disillusioned about teaching and the education system. On an unrelated note, I have watched this video at least 6 times in the past year.

Apparently, disillusion comes easily to me, highlighted by the fact that I often watch E. Gilbert’s lecture on creative anxiety, and the creative genius, when feeling disillusioned about art and writing. Highlighted even further by the fact that one of my favourite CD mixes was entitled Songs for the Disillusioned by the dear friend who made it for me.

But that is beside the point. The point is that I find these talks invaluable. Priceless. Absolutely life-changing. The big issues, the little issues, stuff I can apply to my life immediately, and a lot of food for thought. Good thought. The kind of thought that changes lives and creates a positive change in the world. My goal: watch more TEDtalks.

2 thoughts on “Writing Prompt No. 82

Leave a comment on this article.

