ALL the inspiration! and the Sunshine Award

I wanted to write a post about being a Jack-of-all-Trades, cause I’ve FINALLY made peace with the fact that I am, in fact, cursed blessed with this affliction.

Then I got the lovely surprise of being nominated by new-to-me blogger, Kerry, over at Winding Road, for the Sunshine Award. Thank you, Kerry, for your nomination! (If you’d like to see her nominations, view the original post here).

IMG_0442So I’m pulling them both together: I’m not a writer, an artist, a teacher, a student, a yogi, a bookworm, or a blogger – I’m all of them and none of them and much, much more.

Looking back, I realise that I’ve had this problem for a really long time. I remember sitting with the guidance counsellor in highschool trying to figure out which subjects to choose. Apparently, I was the odd one out because I had so many subjects I wanted to do – the majority had one or two interests and could think in a more linear fashion. Then, in my last year, I had to drop either Calculus or Classical Studies because they clashed with each other – they were able to put them at the same time as I was the only student who wanted to do both (I chose Classical Studies, in case you’re interested).

Before leaving school, I’d been accepted into AUT’s Visual Art degree, but dropped out before the end of Semester One because I wanted more to my life than just art. I began a Bachelor of Education (which I was going to do after the Art degree, anyway) completed it, and taught for a couple of years. I then took last year ‘off’ (I taught part-time with Kip McGrath Education Centres, who I’m continuing with). Why? Because I wanted more to my life than just teaching. Sigh. Sound familiar? High stress and personal grievance / depression / boys came into that stress as well, to be fair to the classroom teaching profession.

Now, I’m blogging, teaching, writing, and getting back into art-making because I want more to my life than just writing. Double-sigh. The difference between this time and those times is acceptance – and planning. I have accepted my desire to learn in so many different fields of study & work, and accepted it as a blessing, not a curse. I am planning ways to be able to achieve these dreams – in all my fields of interest – without feeling overwhelmed. It is also important to me not to complete the old idiom with ‘master of none’. It would be difficult, though not impossible to become a master in all my fields of interest (I would like sanity and a life, too), which means I have to be choosy – which areas am I most career driven in? Which areas are more for personal achievement (hobbies)? Which areas would I like to make a difference in on a national / global scale? Those questions have helped me understand manageable ways to satisfy my craving for knowledge.

Jack of all trades, master of some, thankyouverymuch Universe – I want ALL the inspiration!

And speaking of inspiration, on to the Sunshine Award, for ten blogs that inspire ME.

sunshine-award-sunflower3

Rules: Nominate 10 bloggers & give 11 random facts.

Who would you add to this list? Let me know who I’ve left out in the comments – I love discovering new places of inspiration!

Who are your faves from the list below?

Support Inspire Connect Reflect

This blog is by Aussie writer Alana Munroe (don’t let that put you off, kiwis), but is about so much more than writing. Similarly to my blog, what started out as a mostly-writing blog turned into a mostly-inspiring blog. What sets this apart from other blogs is the range of content, from serious issues, to positive thinking, to light-hearted fun.

Catherine Mede Writes

This blog follows the writing and personal journey of kiwi writer Catherine Mede, and that is inspiration in itself. Mede sets goals regularly, and the progress she achieves is rather significant, which makes me think, “Yeah! I can do it, too!” She also talks about her mental health sometimes, which is initially how I became interested in her blog.

Art Life Food

This is a new-to-me blog, but I am loving the adventures of the author, Jacqueline. She’s recently arrived in India for a 2-month stay in the Himalayas. Photo-heavy, life-heavy, and humour-heavy posts – I am looking forward to reading more from her.

Positivity Blog

This is the one blog I subscribe to for a daily email. The posts are generally short(ish), practical, and chunked into bite-sized bits that even my morning brain can easily digest (okay, easily’s stretching it a bit, but you get my point!).

Amanda Staley

Writer Amanda Staley blogs about her writing and her spiritual path. I don’t miss a post from this blog, partly ’cause I love the blog, and partly ’cause Amanda’s pretty awesome. Her posts about spirituality and self-improvement are soul-searching and deeply honest, and always make me reflect on my own life, thoughts, words and actions. Her posts about writing transcend the craft and considers creativity, other inspiration, and our relationship to the writing process.

TED blog
TED talks. Need I say more? If you haven’t watched any TED talks yet, go to their website sometime this week and watch a handful of lectures. They will change your life, I promise you – there is so much that we don’t know, and these speakers help us explore our world, and ourselves, a little bit more. Accessible but in-depth, and their blog is just as good.
Writing My Novel: No Working Title Yet

Now this is a true writing blog. Writer Teagan Kearney inspires me with her take-no-prisoners writing advice, and honest reflections on her own learnings. She shares her progress and a haiku with every post, which is an awesome little extra when you visit her site.

Mrs Jones Takes a Leap of Faith
I found this blog through Google+, and Inger’s offer to guest post (which she did on Wednesday this week – read her post here). I’ve been really enjoying her daily posts (though I don’t always check in daily), and her sense of humour. Inger gave up her day-job to become a writer, so motivates me to keep pursuing my own dreams (which, as you know if you read the first half of this post, are numerous and therefore motivation is kind of important).
I Heart NZ

This is a blogzine by Josie Stanford, who I met through the Green Bay Creative Writers’ Group. An immigrant to New Zealand, she inspires me to take full advantage of everything my beautiful country has to offer, and reminds me how lucky I am to live here. I’m writing for her soon as well, so watch this space!

The Art of Manliness

Okay. First of all: yes, I know I am not a man. Nor am I (very) manly. My dad may disagree. But I digress: I love this site. It’s one of my favourites. Obviously, I skip the posts like “How to shave with a straight razor,” or “Preventing Swamp Crotch: 10 Products “Scientifically” Tested” (except for the laughs – sorry boys)I found this site when searching for information about first aid and tramping (hiking, to those of you outside of NZ, which my stats tell me is most of you), but found a multitude of other posts that would generally make life more awesome. Really worth checking this out, no matter what your gender.

Eleven random facts:

  • I was born in India, but can’t handle spicy food.
  • I am studying an online course in Model Thinking.
  • I haven’t yet visited the South Island of MY OWN COUNTRY.
  • I love The Beatles.
  • I prefer children’s movies to grown-up movies.
  • I like hugs.
  • I have experienced the Catholic and the Islamic religions. They are both a part of who I am now.
  • My name – Zenobia – means “life of Zeus”. I’m half-goddess!
  • I hate talking on the phone. HATE.
  • I am stubborn.
  • I don’t wear make-up.

 

15 thoughts on “ALL the inspiration! and the Sunshine Award

    1. Thank you for linking me to that post – it is *exactly* what I need to hear (read?) right now.

      Even though I know it, a reminder that we don’t need a linear life-path or career is always good. Linear suits some people, but there are so many things to discover and so very little time to do it all in.

      And grocery list entrepreneur? Now *that* is innovative!!

      Like

  1. Thank you so much Zee! You describe me with such kind words. I love following your blog, as well as interacting with you nearly daily! You keep my spirits high, even when I am having one of those days or weeks! Hope your weekend is a great as your spirit!

    Like

  2. Hey Zee, thanks for the nomination – will have to have a think now!
    I love the Beatles too – I used to have two of their movies on Video – I think I wore the tape out!

    Like

    1. Yay! Another Beatles fan! My fave album is either the White Album, Abbey Road, or Please, Please, Me. Can never decide lol.

      Looking forward to reading your nominations!

      Like

    1. Oh dear. I will have to change that! Were you living in Aussie? Surely I got that from somewhere… (or it’s just me losing my marbles, who knows?)

      And thank you, very much 🙂

      Like

Leave a comment on this article.

