Writing Process Blog Hop

Rules:Β  Answer the four questions below, link back to the person who invited you, and name the people who will be posting the following Monday.

Firstly, thanks to Amanda Staley for inviting me to participate in this blog hop. Amanda has been a great supporter and a wonderful friend since I started this writing journey about a year ago (has it really only been a year?!). She’s also started an awesome new gratitude blog called “Happy Ambition”, which I LOVE reading and will be contributing to as soon as I get my act together and write the second half of my interview <sigh>.

Anyway. To the questions:

What am I working on?

Like Amanda, there are a few things. One is this blog, Making Happiness, which I’m enjoying writing for. I’m also sitting on a kid’s fantasy novel that’s ready for its next round of editing (but I’m not), so I’m sitting on that for a while and throwing myself into a new one. In a way, the first novel seemed a bit like a practice round – now I’m really ready to get stuck into a book!

Outside of writing, I’m tutoring 6 part-days a week, and I’m working on keeping myself up-to-date with education in New Zealand, and globally, and working out my next steps in this field.

How does my work differ from others of its genre?

I only have one WIP, and the biggest difference is that it is a children’s book, but with an adult protagonist. What will be different about my next writing? We’ll see πŸ™‚

Why do I write what I write?

I see too many children who don’t believe in themselves (adults, too, but that’s another story), and too many grown-ups who forget to value the beauty, innocence, and creativity of childhood. We should all be a little more child-like, and then, perhaps, we may see how grown-up they really are. Everyone should feel empowered to be the change they want to see in the world.

How does your writing process work?

Basically, it works when I’m feeling inspired. Which is more often than one may imagine. Once I have a project I believe in, a story I know is “good”, I can write on and on and on; the ideas & words just flow. Even on a bad day, I can force myself to write, and something will come out, so this year my big writing goal is just to write for me. Does that answer the question? I do plan first. I need a plan.

Look for the blog hop to continue next week (or the week after that, if they’re like me) on these sites:

J.C. Hart

Joy Findlay

Catherine Mede

Freya Robertson

3 thoughts on “Writing Process Blog Hop

Leave a comment on this article.

