Back to the Drawing Board

Like me, this blog has gone through a lot of changes. Recently, my blog’s begun to feel like a chore (so did writing, for a little while), and as soon as that happens, I know something’s not right. So I’m listening to David Bowie, who’s telling me to face the changes, and do something about it.

Not Whangamata. But still a solitary roadtrip (with the late Mintie, who was written off after being hit by another car).
Not Whangamata. But still a solitary roadtrip (with the late Mintie, who was written off after being hit by another car).

I spent yesterday taking a day-trip to a little beach town in New Zealand, Whangamata – possibly the most chilled place known to mankind (and womankind). Anyway, after buying some new yoga pants and a chicken supreme pizza, I sat on the beach and let myself just stop and think.

When I was having coffee with friend and writer Joy Findlay a few weeks ago, I talked about how putting too much pressure on myself sucked the creative juices out of me. This thought came back to me, and I realised I’d begun to put too much pressure on too many things on my life. My self-expectations were of Willy Wonka grandeur, and frankly, they weren’t making me happy.

So it’s back to the drawing board, and my writing and my blogging are going to be a glorious mix of randomness. I’ll continue to write a few times a week, and continue to accept guest posts if you have something to write for me.

Hugs to all my friends and readers – blogging wouldn’t be the same without you 🙂

Zee xx

18 thoughts on “Back to the Drawing Board

    1. New Zealand is gorgeous! Very lucky to live here 🙂 I’m actually in Dunedin right now, which is at the bottom of the South Island. It has the most beautiful old architecture, and is nestled between the hills and the sea. Stunning, indeed.

      Like

  1. Hi Zee thanks for writing this post. I can really relate to it and the whole pressure thing. Trying to go with the flow right now. Love randomness too. Lisa 🙂

    Like

    1. Hi Lisa 🙂 How’s the 100happydays challenge going? I’ve found it helps me to find more things that make me happy (even if I don’t always take a photo of them, oops!)

      Thanks for your comment. It seems there are several people who can relate to this. Honestly, after writing this post I felt so much lighter and freer, so I’m glad I decided to shift things (again).

      I was talking to a friend about it the other day, who was saying to stop worrying about ‘doing’ great things, and just be the best ‘you’ that you can xx

      Like

      1. Hi Zee 100happydays is going well. I sometimes take pics and forget to post lol. Focusing on looking after myself at the moment and hope that the writing will follow. L xx

        Like

  2. I think you and I are at the same place. I haven’t been able to write for the last few months, blogging or otherwise. I’ve been so neglectful of almost everything. Reading this I think I finally realise that the initial passion simply dropped out the bottom for me. I too am not giving up, simply taking time out to focus on what still excites me. I look forward to your randomness Zee 🙂

    Like

    1. Ben! It’s nice to hear from you 🙂 I figure that when it’s not exciting anymore, there’s something wrong. Whether that’s too much pressure, not the right project, priorities, or just that you’re simply not ready yet.

      For me, meditation and long walks have helped me find the clarity to realise what I need to do, which is mostly to just stop caring about what OTHER people think, and do what I want to do. Also to take the pressure of DOING something great, and focus on BEING my own version of greatness. Which we all have. Whether it’s writing, blogging, or otherwise, I look forward to hearing more from you soon 🙂

      Like

  3. I hear you so much on this, Zee, and not just because I’ve been listening to Bowie (or Chris Hadfield’s incredible cover of “Space Oddity” on repeat) all day too 🙂

    I’ve been neglecting my blog lately because I don’t know what the purpose of it is any more – I need to sit down and sort this out, but it’s way down my priorities list. I spent several months trying to work out what actually should be on my priorities list, and only confused myself even more. I eventually realized I was putting too much pressure on myself about too many things and a few weeks ago I called a time out from the world, which is what I’m doing now. My only commitments are my study, and Camp NaNoWriMo, and that’s enough. The rest can figure itself out in it’s own time.

    My point is, If things aren’t making you happy, then sometimes going back to the drawing board is the best thing you can do. You’ll figure it out, and I look forward to the glorious mix of randomness 🙂

    Hugs back at ya!

    Like

    1. Hi Grace! *googles chris hadfield*
      Oh dear, that sounds rather familiar! But calling time-out is sometimes EXACTLY what you need, and from what you’ve said, it sounds like it’s the best thing for you right now. And it’s not a complete time-out, you’ve still got projects going, and, y’know, life.
      Also, hugs are good! More hugs, I say 🙂

      Like

      1. Whilst you’re googling Chris Hadfield (watching him sing “Space Oddity” from the International Space Station is still one my fave things ever), check out his “Fear Not” TED talk as well. The man’s an inspiration.

        P.S. You can never have too many hugs. Here, have another 🙂

        Like

        1. Thanks for that. I watched it the other day – it’s fantastic. Sometimes stuff is scarier in our heads than it is in real life… He does a great performance of Space Oddity at the end of the talk as well 🙂

          Like

  4. Sometimes we just need to sit back and rethink our goals and make sure they are taking us where we want to go. I am glad you are getting some things sorted. Hope you find the happiness you are seeking to create!

    Like

    1. Exactly 🙂 As I was answering your happiness interview, the question “Do you see yourself as a happy person?” caught me off-guard. The answer is, I do! I am a happy person with an abundant and beautiful life, but finding the right projects, challenges and people along the way (and not letting my brain drag me down in negative thinking) is still a part of life’s journey. So, I’ve made my own happiness, but I’m still growing into my own greatness x

      Like

Leave a comment on this article.

