On Creativity, Collaboration and Shining

Last weekend was the annual Rialto Channel 48 Hours Competition (previously V 48 Hours, but sponsorship change = name change). Our team, “Bigger on the Inside” competed last year as well, which I wrote about here. Below is our video from last year, “Puppetry of the Dreamless”.

While some of the crew were filming, a couple of us were having a chat about our experience, and we agreed the best aspect of the competition is the opportunity to work with an awesome bunch of creative people. As Amanda wrote about in her recent post about beta reading, it’s comforting to learn of others’ ideas, setbacks, and aha! moments.

Filming our team intro
Filming our team intro

I think this is one reason why collaborative projects are so healthy for creativity. As many of us can say from experience, creativity and anxiety often go hand-in-hand; it is rare to find an artist (of whatever medium) who does not doubt their work at some point. By working alonside others in our field, we usually find that what we’re going through is ‘normal’, and the bottom line is believing in your own work: having a vision.

For my first novel, I think that doubting my vision was my major setback. Christine noticed this when she read my re-write, and I noted the parts that were most-liked overall were the parts I had no doubts about. Not rocket science. Assuming the group has good (or at least, passable) dynamics, then at any one time you’ll have people carrying through the vision when others are doubting. As long as they can carry it through long enough for the rest of the team to get back on the vision-horse, the vision is held aloft for the entire project.

You’e also got a heap more talent to draw on, both creatively and technically. Our team are generally a positive bunch, and try to work on the strengths of others. I’ve noticed that children and adults are alike in this way – when we feel good about ourselves, we really do shine. We bring our strengths to the table, and work with what we’ve got. It also helps having a group of people to throw ideas around.

This year’s video will be up shortly, and I’ll post it here when it is.

But tell me, what collaborative projects have you been involved in (or would you like to initiate?)

 

 

2 thoughts on “On Creativity, Collaboration and Shining

  1. I’ve always been a bit of a lone wolf when it came to creativity. But I did get the chance to paint with my brother this last weekend and found it so much easier having a second pair of eyes to offer an opinion (and also tell me when to stop ‘improving’ my work lol)

    I have always been curious as to how collaboration works, especially with writers collaborating on a novel. It’s great that you had a positive experience with collaborating, I think these things could go either way sometimes.

    Really enjoyed the vid btw ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    1. I’m often a lone wolf with creating stuff, too. I think it’s mostly because I like to have autonomy over the project (read: control issues). I always appreciate a second pair of eyes, though.

      I honestly don’t know if I could collaborate on a novel, and even a painting would take a huge effort for me. What makes a collaborative project work for me is if we all have defined roles. This means we know who gets to make the executive decision on what, and we don’t start ripping each other’s throats out.

      And thanks ๐Ÿ™‚ At the time, I wasn’t entirely happy with it, but looking back know I quite like it! Not bad for a 48-hour effort, at any rate ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

Leave a comment on this article.

