“I know I can accomplish anything I set my mind to.”

I found an awesome new app the other day. It displays a range of affirmations – you can either set it to one particular one, or let it cycle through the range. I’ve set mine to change every three hours.

If you’re interested, it is a free app, which you can find for Android, but I haven’t found a version for Apple products yet – leave a comment if you can find one similar, please!

The one affirmation I want to focus on is “I know I can accomplish anything I set my mind to.” This one popped up yesterday afternoon and really got me thinking. I know I can accomplish anything I set my mind to – I have determination (read: stubbornness) coming out my ears. My past tells me that – when I want something, I WILL do it. Like when I became a vegetarian. I wanted to, so I did it. End of story (I’mΒ mostly vegetarian now).

So, the affirmation empowered me to realise that if I want to publish my work, not only am IΒ able to, but IΒ will. But it’s the flip side that made me ponder. If I set my mind to creative writing, I will write. If I set my mind to having a good day, I will have a good day BUT if I set my mind to wallowing in self-pity… guess what I’ll do? I’ll be like this guy:

For now, I’m just trying to notice those moments when I’m settling into a ‘negative’ mood, and allowing myself to gently move on, rather than forcing positivity too much. It’s been enlightening. Here’s to learning, and growth, and change.

P.S. Any awesome apps to recommend??

4 thoughts on ““I know I can accomplish anything I set my mind to.”

Leave a comment on this article.

