Round Two

I was going to title this post square one, but I’m not really going back to square one, I’m moving forward (in a kind of sideways way. Like a crab).

As most of you know, I’ve been working on John Carroll’s story since April last year. I finished the draft in a few months, and since then it’s being editing. That means I’ve been editing this ONE STORY for a whole YEAR. I mean, I’ve being doing other little side projects as well, but it still seems a long time. That year went something like this:

Source: behappy.me
Source: behappy.me

Not great. This week, I promised myself I would do the last round of editing before submitting it BUT I’ve finally had to admit there’s reason the editing process has stretched more than my winter-belly pants: the manuscript is just not good enough.

Now, this isn’t me worrying I’m not good enough, or the writing’s not good enough, or no one will like it or blah blah blah <insert undeserving self-pitying here>. This is me KNOWING my work can be better. And if it can be better, it should be better. I want to put my best foot forward, not my kind-of-okay-it’ll-do foot.

So right now, I am going back and re-plotting the whole story. Which I’ve been avoiding since ages ago. Funnily enough, it does actually feel good. Perhaps this is because I’ve revised as much as I possibly can, proving to myself that my work needs a re-plot, and it can’t just be ‘saved’.

However, Jumping head-first into novel writing has taught me heaps. I’m working on my second WIP now – a different story altogether – and even though I’m only a few thousand words into it, I already feel confident with what it’s going to be. John’s new plot is feeling stronger, and my creative writing muscle has been well-exercised and ready for Round Two.

And now, for something deep:

“Mistakes are almost always of a sacred nature. Never try to correct them. On the contrary: rationalize them, understand them thoroughly. After that, it will be possible for you to sublimate them.”

-Salvador Dali

One thought on “Round Two

Leave a comment on this article.

