On Publishing Options

When I started the game of writing, I hadn’t even considered the option of self-publishing my work. That is, until the wonderful Joy Findlay generously shared her experiences with me. I was intrigued & impressed, and as I connected with other writers in the blogosphere I found more and more indie authors. Again, I was intrigued and impressed, but held true to my original path.

They did make me question, though: perhaps indie publishing is an option for me? There are a few obvious drawbacks (money, time, sanity) and for the most part I’ve continued to stick with the goal of being traditionally published.

Lately, though, I’ve begun to feel an itch to be published. This was reignited by a fellow NZ writer, Cassie Hart. I want to be published NOW. I’m getting impatient. If I could just get one book out there, I find myself thinking, I’ll feel better about my work, my ability, and my talent.

Which I do have, I keep reminding myself. And impatience is not a good reason to choose a career path. Zee – listen to your brain!

Now, I firmly believe that one is not better than the other. Sure, there’s a bit more prestige that goes with traditional publishing, but this article from Brain Pickings shares an interesting view on prestige, from Y-Combinator founder Paul Graham: 

“What you should not do, I think, is worry about the opinion of anyone beyond your friends. You shouldn’t worry about prestige. Prestige is the opinion of the rest of the world…Prestige is like a powerful magnet that warps even your beliefs about what you enjoy. It causes you to work not on what you like, but what you’d like to like.”

Food for thought, yeah? Yup. Now, the thing is, I could do this. Either path is doable, it’s just about finding the right one for me, which currently translates to finding out everything possible from writers at all points of the vast publishing spectrum.

So – any experiences to share? Which path have you chosen, and why? What problems have you faced that were unexpected? What about unexpected benefits of the route you took?

*Links welcome

6 thoughts on “On Publishing Options

Leave a comment on this article.

