Living Moxie Confidence Course #1

A few days ago, I signed up for a Self-Confidence Course on Living Moxie (though, if you read the title of this post, you already know this). You can sign up here if you’re interested: http://dawnbarclay.com/self-confidence-course

These posts will explore the ideas in the course as I do them, and sometimes include the exercise I’ve done for that day. You will be able to view them all here.

Day One

Jumping straight in the deep end, this session asked some probing questions. I was listening to a talk by Douglas Adams the other day, and he emphasised the importance of asking the right questions – for it is only when you know the question that you can ever hope to know the answer. 

Specifically, the questions made me consider what ‘confidence’ actually means to me, and what it looks like. It helped me explore how I act / think when I am feeling confident, and what situations inspire a lack of confidence.

It helped me come to the conclusion that when I am feeling anxious, it is usually going back to the idea that I am not good enough, and so I try to act good enough, while not really believing that I can be.

On the other hand, it helped me understand that when I am feeling confident, I’m living in the moment, and just doing the best I can at the time, which generally helps me exceed my expectations of ‘good enough’ anyway. Basically, it goes back to mindfulness and gratitude.

One thought on “Living Moxie Confidence Course #1

Leave a comment on this article.

