Living Moxie Confidence Course #4

A week or so ago, I signed up for a Self-Confidence Course on Living Moxie (though, if you read the title of this post, you already know this). You can sign up here if you’re interested: dawnbarclay.com/self-confidence-course

These posts will explore the ideas in the course as I do them, and sometimes include the exercise I’ve done for that day. The other posts in this series can be found here.

Image from dawnbarclay.com
Image from dawnbarclay.com

 

Day Four

This session was about getting out of your comfort zone. No one’s good at this. That’s why it’s called a comfort zone, but this session talked about it in a gentle, do-able way.

I’m all for gentle and do-able.

One thing I’ve been struggling with is getting away from depression and anxiety as part of my identity. I wrote about that here. Also, in the first session of the Living Moxie course, we looked at beliefs about ourselves (which form our identity), and the level of truth those beliefs reflect.

Dawn suggests to break out of your comfort zone in baby steps, regulate, and then take another baby step. Regulation is the key here. One thing I feel really anxious about is making phone calls. It’s why I still haven’t sorted out my EIN number yet.

First, my baby step. This week, I made one phone call, and allowed myself to be proud of having made that phone call. The issue was sorted out, I didn’t say the ‘wrong’ thing, I stayed calm, and it was all over in a few minutes. Success!

Then, it was time to regulate. This is a part of the new me. The me that doesn’t get anxious about making phone calls, the me that can sort things out and deal with consequences. Calmly.

Go me!

Some questions from today’s session:

  • Where will I plant seeds of courage today?
  • What am I really scared of?
  • Do I have people in my life who are positive and display courageousness?
  • Where am I my biggest saboteur?
  • How can I take steps of courage one day at a time?
  • Am I being the person I know I can be?
  • How will I love myself today, a little bit more than yesterday?

3 thoughts on “Living Moxie Confidence Course #4

Leave a comment on this article.

