The Pressure of Success

Not saying I’m successful, but saying I sometimes feel lots of pressure to be successful. What if my stories aren’t absolute masterpieces? What if they’re not original? What if they’re good but I’m just crap at marketing them?

Basically, what if I’m not perfect?

And the pressure’s coming from me. I have no one else to blame. Well – I suppose I could blame media, or society, or my parents… but really, when it comes down to it I am the only one who really has responsibility for how I feel.

My partner told me a story about a man who sat near the bottom of the stairs to the Great Wall of China. Every day, he would come out and play on his guitar – terribly. Every day, he would sing his heart out – terribly.Β 

And everyday, he would have a terribly infectious grin on his face. He was happy.

Does anything else really matter? Well, yes lol. I believe we should be contributing to society, in some way or form, and helping make the world a better place every day. But is that not what this man was doing? He was creating smiles, and laughter, and he’s certainly made me re-think success.

Success is having a lifestyle I am happy with, contributing to society, and being able to give myself 100% to the people and projects in my life.

What does success mean to you?

9 thoughts on “The Pressure of Success

  1. Lovely post Zee. It’s not easy with all the pressure on us to be ‘successful’…. I think for me, personally, success is feeling contentment despite all the pressures on us to achieve and have more and more. If we can feel inner contentment and truly enjoy our relationships we are very successful. πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. Not always wise LOL but good on the advice front πŸ™‚ You’re right on, but I think some of us need more reminders than others LOL.
      Also, really really loved your last poem.

      Like

Leave a comment on this article.

