Work in Progress Blog Challenge: Lucy’s Story

I was invited by author Vashti Quiroz-Vega  to participate in the ‘Work-In-Progress Blog Challenge,’ and I accepted. Vashti is an avid blogger, and author of The Basement, a suspense / thriller for young adults.

It’s an exciting one – the rules are to post the first line from each of the first three chapters in my work-in-process (WIP), and select four other writers to do the same.

 

I’ve chosen to take lines from Lucy’s Story: The End of the World for this challenge. It’s in its first draft now, and not many people know what happens in this one. It’s the direct sequel to The Caretaker of Imagination, which is in revision stages now, and will (hopefully) be published in December. Special thanks to Paul Taylor at AfterWork Productions for feeding me the apocalypse story idea.

Introduction:

She was too old to believe in them now, but Lucy still loved listening to her uncle’s stories.

Chapter One:

‘The End of the World’ was all Lucy had time to write before her mum rudely interrupted, stared pointedly at the clock on the wall, and informed Lucy it was well past her bedtime.

Chapter Two:

The tears choked out of her in spluttering sobs, turning into steam the instant they hit the earth below her.

Chapter Three:

Could they mean her?

I’m tagging the following writers, and can’t wait to see their chapter lines!

Click on their name to visit their blog:

Christine Campbell

Emma Lindhagen

Jon Simmonds

Amanda Staley

 

15 thoughts on “Work in Progress Blog Challenge: Lucy’s Story

  1. You’ve got me hooked! The first line I loved the poeticism of, the second was warm and comforting, then the third comes in with a gigantic “WTF??” and the fourth left me going: “More! More now! You can’t leave it there…”

    Splendid stuff Zee. And thanks for the shout out – I’ll get the lines posted this weekend…

    Like

    1. Lol. I remember looking at mine after I read Vashti’s post and thinking ‘at least hers make sense… mine are all over the place! I’m glad that’s worked out cause it just looked like a jumble to me!

      Sweer – glad you’ve accepted the tag. I look forward to reading it!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment on this article.

