Juggling Life’s Responsibilities

It’s been a while since I’ve been really, truly inspired to blog. And that’s okay. Actually,Β that’s what this post is about.

Over in the Writers’ Coffeehouse (a Google+ Community), Amanda started a discussion about how we all juggle life’s responsibilities. Pretty much all of answered the same way.

We don’t.

Wait, what? Even you, who has a gazillion Twitter followers, churns out a dozen books a year, blogs with mechanic regularity, and STILL manages to check out cute cat photos online? Whew!

x-all-the-things-meme-generator-do-all-the-things-47f7e8

This goes back to a post I wrote last year, about how we compare our behind-the-scenes to other people’s highlight reels. When I sit at my computer, and browse through my social media feeds; when I read the blogs of friends and writers; when I watch interviews of indie writers at various stages of success; when I read about the steady progress and iron determination of some writers, I do often find myself rather unproductive in comparison.

I think what this discussion pointed out to all of us, is that we’re not actually comparing to each other, we’re comparing to the uber-photo-shopped version of each other. None of us are robots, and for most of us, productivity and energy comes in waves. I haven’t done much fiction writing of late, but I have done lots of guitar practice, lots of journalling, and more exercise.

The way I see it, it all balances out in the end. A balanced lifestyle doesn’t mean I need to do everything with perfect routine and clockwork, it means listening to what my energy is naturally attuning to. I try to make sure I make a minimum effort in everything, and not ignore it altogether (like when I’m not in the mood for blogging, I’ll at least do my Week that Was blog post, and when I’m not in the mood for social media, I’ll at least comment on other people’s stuff).

Now that I understand I’m allowed to let waves of productivity, it’s time to put it into practice. I’m learning to not see myself as a failure if I’m not doing ALL the things, ALL the time, and I feel like I’m making good progress.

How do you deal with all your responsibilities, and how do you stay feeling good?

7 thoughts on “Juggling Life’s Responsibilities

    1. I make a list EVERY morning at the moment! Like you, it kinda keeps me sane, and when I cross stuff off it makes me realise I am actually making progress πŸ™‚

      Thanks for stopping by and leaving your thoughts, Sarah x

      Like

  1. Hi Zee! There are days that I have the energy to be productive and get everything done, but more often than not, I need to prioritize what will get done, and leave everything else for another day. We all have lives outside of blogging and social media and if we want our blog posts and writing to be good we have to live it. I try not to compare myself to other people because like you mentioned we really can’t see 100% into someone else’s life on here. I’m my biggest competitor because I’m always trying to outdo myself. Great post! πŸ˜€

    Like

    1. Thanks for your contribution to the discussion, Vashti. You’re so right πŸ™‚

      My sister and I were talking about this today, and it seems most people do work in ups and downs of energy, but it all evens out in the end!

      On another note – is The Basement appropriate for an eleven year old? One of my students wants a thriller / suspense / scary book and is over RL Stine lol

      Like

  2. Great post … We are our own worst enemies and often very hard on ourselves. I have been less than productive in my writing lately. Yet work has been going out, I have managed to do sound and lighting on a play and am performing in a play on Saturday which I have been rehearsing for. I have had birthdays, engagements and am at a crossroads in respect to work. Something’s got to give πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. Exactly! And it’s perfectly okay for writing time to give. I mean, if we spend all our time writing, when do we create the experiences that give us things to write about??

      Like

Leave a comment on this article.

