Surrounding yourself with the right people

I never met my grandfather on my mum’s side, as he died when she was still a teenager. There’s one thing he said that mum passed on to me, which is this:

“You can tell what a person’s like by looking at their friends. ”

I’m going to one up that, and add that you can also influence who you are, by who you choose to hang out with.
There have been many friendships in my life which have come and gone, some which I miss, others I’m glad are in my past, and some which are jyst beautiful memories. They have all shaped me.
What I’ve discovered, and is something both my boss and my boyfriend have been drilling in to me, is that the most successful relationships are ones that focus on the strengths.
This week I was reminded how important this is in our friends. I’ve been a bit sedate of late, and part of that’s just been trying to muster up some enthusiasm. I must shout out to Cassie, Yolanda, and Amanda here, who (among many others) are wonderfully supportive people and keep me doing what I’m doing. Thank you.
I also want to mention Jane, who I met through a child care job several years ago. She’s a super talented artist (see for yourself at littleblackbugs.com) and exudes enthusiasm for life.
It’s people like you amazing ladies that keep the rest of us in good spirits. My lesson is to surround myself with positive people, who believe in living life, in the arts, and in making a difference to the people around you.

Thank you, thank you, thank you.

Who are you thankful for?

10 thoughts on “Surrounding yourself with the right people

  1. Hi Zee! Your grandpa was right and so are you. Who you surround yourself with is directly related to who you’ll become as a person. I don’t know Cassie, but I do know Yolanda and Amanda and I couldn’t agree more. All the best!

    Like

    1. Thank you, Vashti. I think the biggest learning curve has been in knowing I can *influence* that – I’m not just stuck with certain kinds of people.

      Cassie’s pretty active on Twitter, she’s @JCHart if you want to add her πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. I am glad all of us were able to help you along your path. I am sure I speak for everyone when I say we are eagerly looking forward to what you accomplish next. And I can’t wait to read your books once they are published! ❀

    Like

Leave a comment on this article.

