Week that Was: Gratitude & Growth

This week has been a bit bumpy, but there’s lots of good news too! I’m back to work and routine, which is wonderful; I’ve joined Les Mills and am loving their group classes; manuscript #1 is with the illustrator, and will be back from the editor today (eek!), and manuscript #2 will be off to Jeni Chappelle for manuscript assessment by tomorrow.

I’ve had some great feedback on my holiday classes, and while I’m still somewhat zombie-like, I definitely feel the energy levels creeping back. I’ve even had some time to actually see my friends. Wowzer, I know.

But through my conversations, especially those online, I’ve realised how easy it is to take things for granted. No – this isn’t true. I’ve always known it’s easy to take things for granted. In theory. I’m learning to recognise when I do, and to be more thankful for the opportunities and lifestyle I have.

I’ve written a book. In fact, I’ve written two books. If you told me that, say, three years ago, I’d have laughed at you. I’ve made a gigantic shift in my career, my lifestyle, and my mindset.

Now it’s time for another shift in mindset. The growth mindset, you could call it. The one where I celebrate what I have, accept I’m not perfect, and challenge myself to greater heights. The one where I throw away what I think society expects of me, and what people in my life have come to expect from me.

I am a growing, learning, changing human being.

Writing Update:

The Caretaker of Imagination is with the illustrator, Jane Thorne, who is aiming to be ready at Christmas.
This means I can now have a better idea of time line, and will be publishing in early March 2015!
In the meantime, I’ve just completed the draft of the sequel, Lucy’s Story (working title), and am working on a digital-only release for Christmas for another project. It’ll be art / poetry based so watch this space.
Thanks to everyone for your support, which includes everything from reading my blog, to being awesome friends, to not laughing at me when I said ‘I’m going to be a writer. ‘

6 thoughts on “Week that Was: Gratitude & Growth

  1. I can’t wait to see what this Christmas project is 🙂 And I’m so excited to hear of your progress! Very cool. Very cool indeed. Sounds like you’re in a great place, and things are only going to get better. You rock!

    Like

Leave a comment on this article.

