Week that was: Revelling in Reading

After my epiphany of toning down the pressure on myself, I am in a better place with my writing this week. I’ve got the story for my wordless book (aka ‘xmas project’) done, and a few of the pictures are planned.

My aim is to get this all planned by the end of the week, so I can do one image per weekday in November, in line with NaNoWriMo next month. Eek! It’s a lot to do, but I have a feeling I am going to love it!

I also came to realise why I haven’t done much reading lately – except non-fiction. I’ve been finding it hard to ‘turn off’ my brain (a problem that dates back as far as I can remember. In fact, when I was little I complained to my mum about it and she said, “Maybe when you grow up you’ll become a writer.” I thought she was crazy.)

But this week, I finished Christine Campbell‘s book, “Here at the Gate (I’ve linked to the Amazon page). Once I was up to the last quarter or so of the book, I could not put it down. It had been so long since I’ve had that feeling so I revelled in it, and spent the rest of the evening devouring the story. It helped me to get back into reading. Thank you, Christine. It was a fantastic book – readers, watch this space for a review later this week.

Writing Update

-Planning is underway for “The Xmas Project”

The Caretaker of Imagination is with the illustrator, with concept sketches done already! (Sorry guys, no pictures yet.)

-Both The Caretaker of Imagination and Lucy’s Story are back from their respective editors, and waiting for me to dig into them.

 

2 thoughts on “Week that was: Revelling in Reading

    1. I really appreciate it, Christine. It had been so long since I really sat down and enjoyed something, finished it, and wanted to pick up another.

      Thank *you*.

      Like

Leave a comment on this article.

