Why Wordless? +Picture Book Release Date

I love wordless books. I was first introduced to one as a child, with the book ‘Zoom’, by Istvan Banyai, which I found fascinating. Prior to this, I had seen books as a vessel only for written stories – though perhaps with the odd illustration here and there.

I began to appreciate photography books more, but I saw them as nothing more than an image gallery in a more intimate format. There wasn’t a strong narrative that ran through; there was no complication and resolution; there was no story.

Enter ‘The Arrival’ by Shaun Tan. The illustrations are stunning, and just a little bit surreal. The story keeps you guessing and keeps you engaged. I not only gained a new appreciation for wordless stories, but also a broader appreciation of art.

For many years, visual art was my main medium for storytelling. Even in my painting, I’d considered exploring narrative within, and between, works. I still do. In the past two years, I began to explore writing. I’ve written two novellas, and had a feeble shot at some short works. Now, with a bit of experience in both writing and painting, it’s time to bring two of my passions together.

I’m working on ‘What Stars Are Made Of’, a wordless picture book, this month.

‘What Stars Are Made Of’ will be released on Wednesday, December 17th, 2014.

For subscriber-only specials and release announcements, sign up for my newsletter. You’ll only be contacted before a book release.

To follow my progress, joinΒ me on Twitter or Instagram.

5 thoughts on “Why Wordless? +Picture Book Release Date

Leave a comment on this article.

