A change of mind #ThinkKit

Today’s prompt is: What did you change your mind about this year?

This is a hard one, because there’s lots of things I’ve changed my mind about! Study, career options, publishing, money – the list goes on.

I’m gonna go with the publishing thing. Setting out into a career of writing, self-publishing wasn’t even on my radar. As I began to connect with more writers, I began to understand that self-publishing was ‘a thing’.

The first writer to really introduce me to this is Joy Findlay, who’s also a children’s author. You can read her blog here, which has fantastic info about the publishing world – especially if you’re in New Zealand. (Also, if you’re reading this, Joy, we’re overdue for a coffee!). At that point, I’d decided I’d go hybrid – work my way into traditional publishing, and self-publish on the side.

It was not to be.

After talking to JC Hart and Richard ParryΒ (both of whom have just released books, so do have a look and see if it’s your cuppa tea)Β I realised that the reasons I was seeking traditional publishing were a) prestige, and b) validation. Neither of which are compelling reasons to choose one method over the other.

Enter independent publishing, and ‘doing the self-publishing dance’, as Michael Litzky tweeted. It’s about freedom, control, and fun.

I’m so glad I’ve chosen this path, even if it is just because I’m a control-freak.

ThinkKit is a blog project, with daily prompts in December. Friends who are also doing this are Amanda Staley and Emma Lindhagen.

2 thoughts on “A change of mind #ThinkKit

    1. I am, too. I’m hoping it gets me thinking outside the box a bit cause it feels like my thinking has plateaued – one reason why I wanted to study next year.

      I shall have to be more creative!

      I’m glad you’re enjoying them πŸ˜€

      Like

Leave a comment on this article.

