Two Cents: Good Advice This Year #ThinkKit

This is another topic I could pick so many different responses to. I’m blessed (and cursed, sometimes) to know people with wisdom who aren’t afraid to share it.

Lucky me.

I’m gonna go with ‘where there’s a will, there’s a way.’

There have been two very different contexts in which this adage has come up this year. One is in terms of art-making, writing, and making money from these pursuits, and came from my partner who is endlessly supportive of my talents and creative projects.

The other made me feel like, just maybe, the world can be a better place.

Someone at work had received an email with some absolutely horrific images of children who were victims of the IS. One person criticised the journalist for taking the photo and not helping; another lamented the fact that we couldn’t do anything about it. Someone replied, “We can pray.”

Now, I’m a believer in action over prayer, but this did strike a chord with me. I mean, perhaps prayer doesn’t tangibly change anything, but it’s still one more voice out there wanting the right thing. Perhaps the journalist didn’t physically help (or maybe they did – I don’t know), but they’ve helped raise awareness.

Maybe I’m just naive, but I do believe that as we become aware of these horrific tragedies, the more we will help others, and the more we will make the most of what we do have.

So, where there’s a will, there’s a way, and I’m gonna do my best to make the most with what I’ve got.

ThinkKit is a blog project, with daily prompts in December. Friends who are also doing this are Amanda Staley and Emma Lindhagen.

Leave a comment on this article.

