Why Aren’t We Awesomer? TEDtalk on thoughts vs reality

“Just because a thought is in your head, doesn’t mean it’s true… you’re NEVER more than one thought away from a whole new experience of being alive.”

This last year, after reading ‘Super Brain’ by Chopra & Tanzi, I started referring to my brain as being separate to myself. I did this because sometimes I  would think things like I’m worthless, or I can’t do anything right, or everyone’s lives would be better off without me.

But it wasn’t really me thinking that. I didn’t actually believe that I was a worthless person – I don’t believe that at all. I know I’m not perfect – but I’m not terrible, either.

So why do these thoughts exist?

That’s what this post – and the TEDtalk – is all about. I started referring to these false thoughts as my brain’s thoughts. I wasn’t thinking it, my brain had learned these negative habits over time, they’d been reinforced, and so it had begun to think the thoughts were true.

I came across this TEDtalk last week, and it helped reinforce the idea of my brain vs myself, or my thoughts vs reality. Truth is, no one really knows what reality is, because we all experience it so differently. Once we can accept that there’s really no absolute truth; no absolute reality, we can screw everything and just do whatever the hell we believe in.

Sounds good to me 🙂

wblake

9 thoughts on “Why Aren’t We Awesomer? TEDtalk on thoughts vs reality

  1. Yes, I am also a firm believer in the whole idea of the Ego vs. the Self, with the Ego being the mind or the brain or whatever you want to call it. My brain regularly works on sabotaging my life, sadly, whether with doubts, over-thinking, over-analyzing, worrying, stressing, etc. It’s very good to learn to separate yourself from that, or to be able to step back from it/turn it off, etc.

    Like

    1. And it makes it easier to deal with, doesn’t it, when you see it as a part of you, but still separate to yourself?

      It’s easier to keep that stuff in check. Thanks for popping by. I’ll be ordering ‘Vince’ soon, but decided to get it once I’ve done my blend and order both together – can’t wait!!!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes, it’s helpful to know it is something you can learn to control or regulate, at least. I’m still working on that control, but it helps a lot when I remember to take time out for myself and remember to do some kind of activity that is truly enjoyable for me and does not require my brain to be active. 🙂 Then it seems to remind my brain it is not in control of me and I CAN escape if I want! Hah.

        Oh, and YAY about the teas! 😀 I can’t wait to hear about the blend you made! Is it for your book? Or just for you? Will you be sharing???

        Also, I LOVE this TED talk and will be sharing it to my friends and coworkers both!

        Like

        1. Yeah at least to manage it lol – I don’t need to be in control all the time, as I keep trying to remind my brain! And I so agree, sometimes we need completely brain-dead activities as well.

          I’m going to make a heartening, warming chai masala blend to go with the sweetness of What Stars Are Made Of 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment on this article.

