Sponsorship & Promotion: Ask and ye shall receive

NB: This year, my fiction writing & publishing workload has increased. For 2015, I will be publishing once weekly (Mondays) for fellow indie writers. This will by & large be about marketing and promotion strategies I am using.

So last week I wrote a post about sponsorship being a way to afford goodie bags and giveaways for my book launch. The more I ask people, the more it feels like a good idea, and the more confident I become at asking.

It’s also interesting to note how many people I’ve been able to get into contact with who are friends of friends – my illustrator referred me to a few party places (she’s also a fairy face painter) and my Dad had a few contacts for me as well. Most people respect you for making an effort and trying new things, and that respect ‘leverages’ them towards giving you an extra hand.

I’ll be buying someΒ merchandise for the goodie bags, and some prizes for the giveaways as well, but I’m trying to bulk up the bags with sponsorship. This is the first time I’ve ever done something like this, and I’m sure there’ll be lots of changes to the way I do it next time.

The takeaway? Talk to people you know, and get out of your comfort zone, just a little bit πŸ™‚

If you’d like to get your books or products in front of an audience of kids, teachers and parents, get in touch with meΒ or have a look at zrsouthcombe.com/sponsor. It could be anything from a discount code for your books, to a donation of one children’s book, to items for 50 virtual or physical goodie bags πŸ™‚

9 thoughts on “Sponsorship & Promotion: Ask and ye shall receive

        1. See that’s what I’m not sure about. If I release a book every 4 months or so, I think the launches will lose their mojo, but I would like to have some sort of launch for every book.

          At this point, I’m thinking of doing a different *kind* of launch / event for each book. Like, this is kind of a ‘party’ celebration, the next might be a panel of guest speakers, the next might be a workshop or something.

          That’s the idea for now, but I’ll wait until after TCOI’s launch to decide a bit more fully.

          Like

          1. that’s a really neat idea!! I guess, see how this one goes. You could also do a virtual launch as well, get it global, do a google hangout Q & A or something. Lots of options!!

            Like

Leave a comment on this article.

