Making space for the new

I missed my Monday post due to life getting in the way (it has a nasty habit of doing that, right?) but hopefully you’ve been entertained by my interviews & guest posts all over the web! If you missed them, go to my author siteΒ where I’ve listed the appearances to date.

But back to the topic. I’m reading The Success Principles which I read about on Joanna Penn’s blog. It’s fantastic. Basically, the driving message of the book (at least the way I see it) is:

  1. Figure out what drives you.
  2. Find a way to get paid to do it.

Easy right? Lol. Anyway. One of the chapters is about making space for new ideas, new directions, and new ways of being. He uses an excellent analogy: if you have a bulging full wardrobe, even if you have or want new clothes, there’s no space for them.

Seriously, that line is genius. And it describes where I’m at perfectly. It’s my book launch on Saturday, but this book is so much more than a children’s fantasy. From where I was at the start of planning this book to where I am now encompasses a huge personal journey. I’m not just embracing this more ‘me’ version of me, but putting this version out in the public view.

It’s kind of scary. It’s also a bit of grieving process – you know, emotionally letting go of a phase in my life that has come and gone – but mostly it’s really exciting.

So here’s to positive change, to growth & learning, and to celebrating success! *clinks tea cup*

Leave a comment on this article.

